Head Lifter

I woke this morning

Precariously close

To the edge of the pit.

I could “feel”

If I gave “into” it,

A wasted day.

Thinking too far ahead.

Questions of the mind.

Truth be known,

Pilgrimage in my heart.

 

Pilgrimage – Magowr (maw-gor’) – Mem, Gimal, Reysh

Movement to lift up the head.

 

“Your statues have been my songs

In the house of my pilgrimage.” Psalm 119:54 (NKJV)

 

Where do I sojourn

Or dwell?

What causes me to

Seek,

Make the journey,

Turn aside,

To pilgrimage?

Lifting my head

From the pit;

Moving my emotions,

Spirit and Soul?

 

King David knew the answer…

Your “Word” LORD,

Is my “pilgrimage.”

Refreshing my heart

with a “song”.

 

“But You, O LORD,

Are a shield for me…

The One

Who lifts up my head.”

Psalm 3:3 NKJV


 

Deeper treasure –

The eight verses of

This portion of the

Acrostic poem of

Psalm 119:49-56,

Are carefully placed

Beneath the Hebrew Letter

“Zayin.”

Whose Word Picture is

Of a “sword” or “weapon.”

Hebrew Word Picture Zayin
Hebrew Word Picture Zayin
Zayin -7th Hebrew letter -  Word Picture - Weapon or Sword
Zayin -7th Hebrew letter –
Word Picture – Weapon or Sword

For the Word of God

Is living and powerful,

And sharper than any

Two-edge sword…”

Hebrews 4:12 (NKJV)

Roman weapon displayed on Mt. Arbel in the Galilee Region of Israel

Photo by denisebalog


Sharing my journey through the Hebrew Word Pictures.

Please feel free to share yours.

blessings,

denise

 

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

8 thoughts on “Head Lifter”

  1. This is very nice. Reading time was well spent. In your thank you note I read “A gentle tongue is a tree of life.” I’m reminded of Shakespeare’s “As You Like It” where he “…finds tongues in trees…”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Scott, I must admit, I don’t know much Shakespeare. Now you have me thinking:) I have to go “searching” for Mr. Shakespeare’s “trees”:) Thank you for your kind and gentle words:) blessings, denise:)

      Like

      1. I helped my grandfather build a stone fence more than 60 years ago. The Shakespeare passage of which I speak was etched on a panel of his fence. If you’re interested you can read about it at: http://n7net.me .Go to category “Tanglewood Farm, and then search for “Turn, Turn, Turn”. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I will do that! I love learning and reading:) It is time for bed in my house, but will definitely check out tomorrow! Thank you!! I love that, “etched in a fence” nice:) I touch base again:) d

        Like

    1. When I originally went looking for “pilgrimage” and found the word listed in Psalm 119 as the only place in a Psalm, I was surprised. After spending a bit of quiet time thinking about the verse, while journaling my thoughts, I looked up to read the first verse of the group of 8. (I know the acrostic is divided into 8 verses for each of the 22 letters) anyway, when I noticed it was under the letter Zayin for sword or weapon, the picture in my mind caused me to think of the Scripture in Hebrews 4:12. The word is living and active… Like a sword. I was SO blessed, because I felt I had uncovered a treasure! I started out close to the “pit” and using the “Word” or “sword or weapon” of God, I was safe from falling in the hole of emotions! I was empowered by the Word! So in answer to your question, yes, I think it is positioned there as a lesson. When close to the pit, bring out the “sword” of God and sing!! Not today snake, and cut off the head of depression! I am the head and NOT the tail! Deut. 28:13:) Sorry, I tend to get my “happy” feet on and start “singing” my pilgrim song:) denise I enjoyed your question:)

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

