I Will Comfort You in Jerusalem

Encouraged again by neighbor Butterfly Mind

http://andreabadgley.com/2015/08/15/practice-makes-progress/

and her post on a favorite pillow, her words brought

my comfort or Promise blanket to mind.


In an attempt to write, as with a pencil, and

Not a keyboard…here goes!


 

“As the mountains surround Jerusalem,

So the LORD surrounds His people.” Psalm 125:5 

I was going to Jerusalem
I was going to Jerusalem

Yep, that’s the verse. In 2010 the Lord invited me to Jerusalem.

At first thought, my heart skipped a beat with excitement.

After the initial burst of joy, and my mind took over,

Fear set in.

But it was too late,

the Scripture had dropped down into my spirit,

And I knew that I knew, I was going to Israel.

 

I came up with a million and one reasons why

this was not possible for me to go to Israel.

Keep in mind, I am a girl from Philadelphia who has traveled.

I flew the first time in 1967, by myself no less.

My husband and I, while living in Southern California,

flew the back and forth to Philly many times.

My folks drove us as kids up and down the east coast

every summer visiting family from here to there.

So why was I unable to do this?

And what does this have to do with a blanket?

Flying into Philadelphia
Flying into Philadelphia

 

One morning in prayer and distress at the

Prospect of the pending trip in the air,

I cried out to the Lord, and He gave me,

 

“As one whom his mother comforts,

So I will comfort you;

You will be comforted in Jerusalem.” Isaiah 66:13

 

So I will comfort you..Isaiah 66:13
So I will comfort you..Isaiah 66:13

I felt better, but the real truth was

“Lord, what happens when I am in the middle

Of the 9000 mile journey, in the air, I know

the evil one is going to tell me I made a mistake.

I heard wrong. I am SCARED…I can’t do this!”

DSCN3202
9000 mile journey

 

He reminded me what Jesus answered

when the ol’ snake attempted to do

the same to Him. Jesus spoke,

“It is written…” 

It is written...Matthew 4:4
It is written…Matthew 4:4

So it began…I bought the most comfy fabric

I could find. Thinking I could write the words,

But the pen didn’t work very well on fleece.

So I started to stitch the words.

I thought, I would never finish one verse!

 

With each stitch, the Words were beginning

To become engraved on my heart.

And from His faithfulness and comfort

My Promise blanket became alive with hope.

And not one good promise failed!
And not one good promise failed!

 May I share a few verses…

I asked why He would want to bring me there.

Your eyes will behold the King! Isaiah 33:17-24
Your eyes will behold the King! Isaiah 33:17-24

He was faithful! I was not sick, not one day!!


 

I complained I didn’t understand what He was doing.

I would understand later.

What I AM doing...John 13:7
What I AM doing…John 13:7

We talked about how long the journey would take..

Its an eleven day journey Lord!

(As if He didn’t know this!)

And Israel took his journey. Genesis 46:1
And Israel took his journey. Genesis 46:1

Lord, how will I ever make this whole trip?

(I remember thinking on the bus…

I’m not ready to go home!)

Shall I not...cause to bring forth? Isaiah 66:9
Shall I not…cause to bring forth? Isaiah 66:9

Lord, what about my responsibilities at home?

Mary has chosen...Luke 10:42
Mary has chosen…Luke 10:42

My Prince of Peace…

Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6
Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6

gave me this verse on Easter morning.

“Go to Galilee…there you will see Me”

(I wept like a baby in the Jesus Boat 

gift shop on the Sea of Galilee)

Do not be afraid...go to Galilee..Matthew 28:5-10
Do not be afraid…go to Galilee..Matthew 28:5-10

And the by the time the trip was ready to depart

on February 16, 2011…I was seeing myself

“Walking about Zion!”

Walk about Zion...Psalm 48:12
Walk about Zion…Psalm 48:12

In the LOVE of my Father,

He brought me to His land of Promise.

Love - ahabah - Tav-Aleph
Love – ahabah – Tav-Aleph

and with a desire and new seed planted

in my heart, I believe I will go again!

Let us go at once...I myself am going! Zechariah 8:23
Let us go at once…I myself am going! Zechariah 8:23

“Let us go at once to entreat the favor of the 

LORD and to see the LORD of hosts;

I myself am going!”

Tel Aviv - March 2014
Tel Aviv – March 2014

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

10 thoughts on “I Will Comfort You in Jerusalem”

  1. Oh my goodness, Denise, how I ❤ LOVE this precious comforter which you stitched so lovingly with so many wondrous promises of our Awesome Abba Daddy… And how the Lord Himself so LOVES this treasure and keepsake you created with Him. I was praying for Jerusalem and Israel this morning and then read this…what a joyful witness to His faithfulness. Of course, this makes me long to go to The Beautiful Land…I am sure that I will do so in His time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Denise,
    Reading this post I felt, I myself made that trip to Jerusalem.
    I Love Jesus.
    Like how You met Him.
    I am sure I shall also get to meet Him.
    Amen !!!
    I am to inform you that I have dedicated my latest post in your name, please do read and comment there.
    Those are a few poem like lines which I have written for the first time on my Blog.
    Shiva

    Like

    1. Thank you Shiva:) How blessed to hear this poem spoke to you:) Our Jesus is our Wonderful Comfort! For me it was a trip to Israel, for another it may be a relationship or a trip to the local store. He comforts us right where we are in our hour or trials and needs. So lovely is His Holy Name! Yes, I look forward to reading more of your heart as we lift up the Name of Jesus! blessings, denise ps: Thank you:)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sarah:) I don’t know what a “liebster-award” is, but I sure appreciate your thinking of me:) I appreciate your stopping by to visit. Yes, as I am an elementary secretary in a small rural school, time is really short and exhausting! I’m looking forward to the weekend and a bit of writing time! Thank you again for thinking of me, and I will check it out! Come on back by for a visit! blessings, denise

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So beautiful Denise! I am left breathless at such a journey with faith, I so needed to see this today, and now there is hope in me because you have given me new eyes to see what is in front of me. Bless you! I love your blanket it full of promises fulfilled!

    Like

    1. You are welcome Alice. The only victory I have is in His faithfulness to His Word. I knew He had something wonderful for me, as Father Who loves His daughter. When fear rises up, which happens daily, I claim one of His Words and remind myself Who’s daughter I am. King of king, Lord of lords, Christ Jesus:) blessings in a beautiful day in Him Who loves you:) d

      Like

  4. This is an outstanding post. Each morning my wife read scripture, having the King James Bible on iPad. We listen and follow along with a truly bound Bible. Sometime we don’t fully understand, but we certainly understood what you shared with us here. Many thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Scott:) I am trying to “loosen up” a bit and just share! He is an amazing God! Not one tear is missed or disregarded. My whole life changed in taking that first trip. Fear gone…freedom in Christ Jesus! blessings friend and neighbor! One day we will walk the streets of gold in the New Jerusalem! I myself am going!! d:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

