Will I wear the letter of Life?

Two weeks ago I dropped off the grid. Heart shaken and questioning the strength of my faith.

Headline news stunned the world with photographs of the Aramaic letter N (for Nazareth the town Jesus was born) drawn on houses indicating Christians dwelled inside. www.cbsnews.com/news/for-christians-symbol-of-mideast-opp

I was horrified as the visual played out in my mind.

As an American, would my faith stand strong under this same kind of persecution?

Nightmares taunted me through the night.

Vivid pictures from Yad Vashem, Israel’s Memorial to the victims of the Holocaust, www.yadvashem.org/ etched in my mind’s eye recalling the horror. Children wearing yellow patches marked with the Star of David pinned to breast of their shirts. Families separated in lines; men to one side, woman and children to another.

I would like to say, I walked away from this miserable night stronger.

No, I crawled out of bed in deep sorrow, and

Curled up in the arms of Jesus.

 


I wrote this poem during my quiet time with Jesus, the Prince of Peace.

 

“Lord, would I wear the sign of Naziyer (naw’zeer)

Upon my cloths and home so dear?

Would the letter of my heart

Bring fear and tear apart?

Blessed to be free indeed,

 from

Social customs and tyranny.

Am I willing to stand,

Come soon,

With the letter of Life,

The letter Noon?

 

Can I now remember how my father,

Brother,

Uncle too,

Fought the world

in World War II?

Will I stand against any man

who

Threatens my life and

Relationship with You?

 

In Christ Jesus,

I am set free

To rise,

Remember,

To live in Thee.

American and

Nazarite too,

Rise up

Oh daughter of Liberty

Count me too!”

Poem by denisebalog

 

“Because I live, you also will live…Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” John 14:19 & 27 (ESV)

WWII Women Memorial, Washington, DC
WWII Women Memorial, Washington, DC

The Hebrew letter “N” is the 14th letter Noon.

The word picture is of a “fish” or a “believer”

Noon represents – life activity, life, movement.

Hebrew letter Noon - Life Activity - Word Picture - Fish
Hebrew letter Noon – Life Activity 

 


 

In memory of all who fought and stood for liberty in WWII

WWII Memorial, Washington, DC
WWII Memorial, Washington, DC

photos captured by denisebalog

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

2 thoughts on “Will I wear the letter of Life?”

  1. I was delighted to receive news of your latest blog. I understand your heart-cry. There are days and times when I too have to withdraw and truly rest in Him for strengthening and maintaining of my faith. I thank you for all you expressed on this blog. Surely my heart and prayers are with you and your heart’s yearning for the better for others in these times of sorrow.
    I find I am writing also on my blog at a questioning I once would not have done. Have you seen the film War Room? Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Faye. Blogging and making friends has become a part of my life. Adding numbers, well it is nice to know people are reading, but more is not always best. I have learned so much spending time reading and learning of others around the world through blogging. I feel I owe my friends an explanation of where I have gone off too when I drop out of sight. Taking the time to hear what Jesus says. We may fall, but through His Mighty hand stand up again. Christian are coming together and questioning during this season. Yes, saw War Room last week. Excellent! I told my traveling buddies, I was going if they had to lower me through the roof!:) Actually spent this weekend straightening out my “prayer closet”. I don’t have the luxury of emptying my closet, but I never considered tacking Scriptures on the wall. I am encouraged and able now to shut the door again on kitty cats and doggies who think when you are on your knees it is time to play:) No dear Abby, it time to pray! Blessings to you friend from my space to yours. Come Lord Jesus! Amen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

