World Prayer Day for Peace in Jerusalem

Sharing from my heart tonight.

In quiet time this morning, I remembered today, Sunday, October 4th,

was a day of world prayer for peace  Jerusalem.

My hand turned to Psalm 137, and as I read the words,

my heart was opened to the tenderness of His Word.

(The parentheses are the Scriptures (ESV) and thoughts that came to my mind)


 

HOW SHALL WE SING THE LORD’S SONG?

By the waters of Babylon

(Babylon, a shadow of this world in which we live and work)

There we sat down and wept,

When we remembered Zion.

 

On the willows there we hung up our lyres.

For there our captors required of us songs,

And our tormentors, mirth saying,

(“…my adversaries taunt me, while they

Say to me continually,

“Where is your God?” Psalm 42:10)

 

“Sing us one of the songs of Zion!”

How shall we sing the LORD’s song

In a foreign land?

(“By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called

To go out to a place that he was to receive

As an inheritance…By faith he went to live in the land of promise

As in a foreign land, living in tents”…Hebrews 11:8-9)

 

If I forget you, O Jerusalem,

Let my right hand forget its skill!

Let my tongue stick to the roof of my mouth,

If I do not remember you,

If I do not set Jerusalem above

My highest joy! Psalm 137:1-6

(We have thought on Your steadfast love,

O God,

In the midst of Your temple.

Your right hand is filled with righteousness.

Let Mount Zion be glad!…

Walk about Zion, go around her,

Number her towers,

Consider well her ramparts,

Go through her citadels,

That you may tell the next generation

That this is God,

Our God forever and ever.

He will guide us forever. Psalm 48:9-14)

 

Praying for the Peace of Jerusalem,

Peace in our world.

Praying for the next group of pilgrims to “go out” in January 2016.

 

“Therefore I remember you

From the land of Jordan and of Herman…

By day the LORD commands His steadfast love,

And at night His song is with me,

A prayer to the God of my life.”

Psalm 42:6-8

Good night, and may the LORD bless you from Zion!

Amen

Photo captured by Jasmine James on our February 2011 trip to Israel.

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

4 thoughts on “World Prayer Day for Peace in Jerusalem”

  1. Appreciate your poem. Our granddaughter’s birthday was also on 4th October so she is aware of the significance of 2015 prayer. What a glorious day it will be when the Kingdom of Christ is established when all the sons of Abraham, all the gentiles, all the Jews every nation tribe and tongue will be together. Only through the CROSS.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Blow the trumpet in Zion…let the Bridegroom leave His room, and the bride her chamber.” Joel 2:15-16. Yes, what a glorious day it will be! “The LORD roars from Zion…” Joel 3:16 (I love this Faye, 3:16:) blessings, d

      Like

Leave a Reply

