The Fire to Turn the Heart

My Dad and I
My Dad and I

“And he will turn the hearts of the fathers

 to their children and the hearts of the children

 to their fathers…” Malachi 4:16 (ESV)

 

I’m perplexed, daily,

by this last verse in the Old Testament.

“…to turn the hearts of the fathers to their children…”

How is this accomplished Lord? 


 

I was blessed with a wonderful earthly father

whose heart was always

turned toward me.

Even when I needed a beating

for making a wrong choice or

heading down the path of destruction.

In his love and attention,

I always knew his heart was for me.

His life choices reflected this truth

I felt it in my heart.


 

2015-12-19 Hearts turned - door

Daily I see,

Children who once came through

the open school door

happy and smiling.

Now enter,

as dead men,

with rattling chains

and bones.

 

When a passing smile in the hallway,

brought joy and a smile in return from theirs.

Now, a trip to the Office for a “belly ache”

and a tear of truth no band aide,

or remedy can cure.

 

“He will turn the father’s hearts to the children.”


 

Lord, we need Your Holy Spirit more and more.

Draw them Lord,

Lead them home,

Fetch their wandering eyes,

And bring their fathers home.

 

The hearts of Your children are broken.

Sadden by the choices their parents do make.

In this season of joy and gladness,

You are the Miracle it takes!

 

No hug or smile will bind the wounds

Too deep to aide or cover.

Lord, I’m asking You restore,

Repair,

and return their parents,

One to Love each other.

 

May Your Holy Spirit burn brighter

Than any Christmas tree,

As You heal the hearts of

Your children, and

Return their fathers

To Thee.”

 

Come home


 

What’s the answer Lord?

Hebrew Word for “Turn” – #7725

Shuwb (shoob)

Sheen – ש  – picture of fire – consuming fire.

Vav   – ו – picture of a nail – as joined together.

Bet –  ב  – picture of a tent –  a house or heart where the Holy Spirit lives.

Word picture truth:

  • Consuming Fire joined to the heart.

2015-12-19 Hearts turned - fire


 

New Testament Scripture Truth: (Same Scripture as Malachi 4:16) 

“And he (speaking John his name means Grace in Hebrew)

…and he will go before Him (speaking of Jesus) in the

Spirit and power of Elijah (Grace)

To turn the hearts of the fathers to

The children…”Luke 1:16-17 (ESV)

Yardinet Baptism site - Jordan River, Israel
Yardinet Baptism site – Jordan River, Israel

John’s first words to the people,

“I baptize you with water,

 but He Who is mightier than I is coming

…He will baptizing you

 with the Holy Spirit

 and fire.” Luke 3:16 (ESV)


Life truth:

It takes the Grace of Christ,

And the Power of His Holy Spirit

To “turn” and change the

Hearts of men and women

To their children.

Jesus is the Miracle

Of this Season,

The Light, Truth and Power

Beyond ALL of man’s reason!

God bless and may there be

Joy, healing and

Restoration

as

Hearts “turn” to the

Father.

In Jesus Name.

Amen

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

9 thoughts on “The Fire to Turn the Heart”

    1. Thanks Marcey. I struggled with listing such a “long” post, but I wanted to show how the Scripture explained to me what has to happen in the hearts of “people”. I not opposing couples who cannot live together to not part ways, I just have been SO sadden many have chosen to do so here at the last weeks and days prior to Christmas. Their littles are suffering so. Breaks my heart. Made me think of my parents and I am sure as in any marriage had their ups and downs, but we as kids, never knew much about it. Oh we knew if Momma wasn’t happy:)!! But I know in my heart, they always put us first. We live in such a ” selfie” world, and when folks lift the camera high to capture the picture, they are the only ones they see. Don’t mean to be a Grinch at Christmas, but it recalls the warm safe time of this season of joy we were blessed to live in where the father’s hearts were for his children. Thank you our Father in heaven heart is for us who sent His Son to show us His:) God bless!! And Merry Christmas!!

      Like

  1. Thank you for the blog. Yes indeed this time of year should turn our hearts to the One but also remembrance of our own fathers or significant ones who have influenced. Love the flow of your poetry and the beautiful picture. f.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my frustration to understand why this happens, especially at this time of year, and how the Scripture will be fulfilled, the Hebrew letters word pictures speak so clearly. To have a Scripture that is the last thing spoken in the Old, and pretty much right up there with one of the first things spoken in the New, there must be an answer. The First and the Last, the Beginning and the End, the One Who holds all things together, Jesus:) Thank you for stopping by with your encouragement Natalie:) d

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this beautiful poem. It is more, though, as your word studies reveal. It teaches us and encourages us to continue to pray to and pursue the One who can do the miracles necessary in the hearts of men (all people), to turn their hearts to the children, prepared for the Deliverer to live with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jacqueline. I hesitate to post the “longer” post, but wanting to show how the Lord led me through to the answer in time spent in His Word. I love the Hebrew letter word pictures. They illustrate the answer and speak to my heart. Thank you for your encouragement. Yes, I am so saddened for the little ones at this time of year whose family has fallen apart, and no one with the staying power except the One Who knows their hearts. Thank you for your comment:) d

      Like

Leave a Reply

