Dead Sea – the road by which I went.

Sea shows color of itself from this angle.

Journal Entry: 2/22/11 – Dead Sea, Israel

1:30 p.m. 24 degrees C or 75.5 degrees F


“Warm sunshine;

We’ve just eaten lunch.”

Sweet kitty looking for food from traveling pilgrims and visitors to the park.
Sweet kitty looking for food from traveling pilgrims and visitors.
Tom cat claiming his "turf".
Tom cat claiming his “turf”.
We have enough time to walk down to the Sea.
We have enough time to walk down to the Sea.

“School children are on tours

and they are spilled all over the park.”

Walking the path down leading to the Sea.
Walking the path down leading to the Sea.
Beach is small and rocky.
Beach is small and rocky.
Traveling companions floating. Not much "swimming" going on; just floating!
Traveling companions floating. Not much “swimming” going on; just floating!
Our guide cautioned us NOT to get the Dead Sea water into our mouths or eyes.
Our guide cautioned us NOT to get the Dead Sea water into our mouths or eyes.
Exfoliate – feels like an “oil” base.
Exfoliate – feels like an “oil” base.

“The skin on my hand has the feeling

of softness.  Ladies are paying top dollar

for this treatment back in New York!”

I brought "baggies" 9000 miles to collect sea salt.
I brought “baggies” 9000 miles to collect sea salt.
Looking back towards the wilderness of En Gedi. King David would have stayed in this area when he was fleeing King Saul. 1 Samuel 24:1-22
Looking back towards the wilderness of En Gedi. King David would have stayed in this area when he was fleeing from King Saul. 1 Samuel 24:1-22
Neat to see myself. I was writing in my "journal" these notes.
Neat to see myself. I was writing in my “journal” these notes.

Next travel stop,

climbing the hillside caves

of the Dead Sea Scrolls.


“Set up road markers for yourself;

Make yourself guidepost;

Consider well the highway,

The road by which you went.”

Jeremiah 31:21 (ESV)

 

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

4 thoughts on “Dead Sea – the road by which I went.”

  1. Like your pictures. Am always encouraged by your writing and your passion. Israel will always be for me a prayer and a heart journey. I probably will never go but as the Lord wills – all things are indeed possible. The journey through the eyes of someone with faith indeed takes me there. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Faye:) Blessed to know you have enjoyed a bit of my first journey. My hearts’ desire is to return again soon, but as you said, “as the Lord wills”. Looking forward to sharing a few more days of my travels:) blessings, denise

      Like

Leave a Reply

