Brides of the Beloved

"But Jonah rose to flee to Tarshish from the presence of the LORD. He went down to Joppa and found a ship going to Tarshish." Jonah 1:3
“But Jonah rose to flee to Tarshish from the presence of the LORD. He went down to Joppa and found a ship going to Tarshish.” Jonah 1:3

Our first stop was Joppa. Scents of new growth and spring filled the warm ocean air. Everywhere I looked, I saw brides, in dazzling white, aglow in the sunset. Bridegrooms delighting in their brides as they showed them around the cobbled square.DSCN0159

Learning, these couples were not married as of yet. It was customary for the groom to see his bride before the wedding. Not wanting to make the same mistake as his forefather, Jacob, who married Leah, instead of his beloved Rachel.

“And in the morning, behold, it was Leah!” Genesis 29:25 (ESV)

 DSCN0161


As I lay with my head on my pillow, after 24 hours of travel, listening to the Mediterranean waves crash on to the shoreline below,

I asked the Lord,

“Lord, why after all this preparation, beckoning me in the midst of my fears and baggage, why did You show me these brides first? Why the brides first?”

My heart flutters, and my face I am sure is flush, even now, as I recall His answer to my heart.

“Because you are My Bride.”

  He saw me as one of those beautiful brides of Joppa;

I was His bride and Jesus was my Groom.


 

I felt accelerated; I was sixteen years old again!

I literally experienced my youth being renewed as on eagle’s wings.

 From my heart, with tears of a joy, I asked Him to forgive me for doubting Him.

Whatever He had in store for me and the trip, as His bride, I would trust Him for every step of the way.

And there, after a year and half of planning, praying, and 9000 miles of travel, my journey began…as a bride.

Bridedoorwaybest

 “My Beloved speaks and says to me: ‘Arise, My love, My beautiful one, and come away…”Song of Solomon 2:13


I pray you are blessed today knowing, 

you too,

in His Love,

are a bride of the Beloved.

blessings,

denise

 

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

18 thoughts on “Brides of the Beloved”

    1. Thank you Becky:) My hearts desire is to share His love, and how He longs for us to have an intimacy of relationship with Him. The closest Friend, Wonderful, Counselor, Prince of Peace:)

      Like

  1. Denise..what an incredible experience….got God-shivers as I read this, realizing how passionately He delights in His Beloved, and I love how He met and pursued you with this theme of love in Israel… I am speechless!

    Like

    1. Oh my Susan, I just found this comment from the other day. Thank you for all your lovely words and insight:) Yes, He did pursue me, and I believe His Word that says, “For there is no distinction…the same Lord is Lord of all, bestowing His riches on all who call on Him.” Romans 10:12. Somehow I can see Him encouraging, pursuing and calling each of us to His good plans He has for our lives. I am looking forward to seeing where He leads as I begin to share this 2011 journey:) blessings, denise

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

