Spring Break Adventure – Hugs in Elementary

A first grade boy, running into my office from P.E. this morning,

Please, check my forehead, Miss Denise, cause I feel hot!”

Motioning the small frame six year old to my desk, I opened the drawer.

Pulling out the grey box, which houses the ticket for either staying in school, or the “please come pickup your child,” The Thermometer.

Nurse Denise_HDR

“No Samuel, I’m not seeing a temperature.”

“Do you think you can make it to lunch, and we can see how you feel then?” I asked.

The boy, one who never complains, agreed with a nasal sound to his voice, “Yes, I can make it to lunch.”

As he turned to leave, I asked if his mother was home from work today.

“Yes, she is home packing, cause we are goanna to sleep in the car for two days!”

“Sleep in the car for two days?” Running the possibility through my mind, as I know his Dad is a teacher, and his Mom is a RN at the local hospital.

“Sleep in the car?” I asked again.

Samuel

“Yep, sleep one night in a motel, and live in the car for two days!”

“Two days?” I questioned.

With renewed joy and health to his step, just from talking about his adventure, Samuel called back to me,

“We’re going to Arkansas for Spring break, and we’re goanna live in the car for two days!”

Chuckling to myself, I called his Mom. Sure enough, Mom was home packing for a family vacation to visit relatives, and true to her calling, Mom came right on up to check on him.

Finding her slightly congested boy, running and playing, and stopping long enough to take a decongestant.

Childs Play _HDR

By the time the school bell rang at 3:10, Samuel was ready for the

2016- School buses

Spring Break adventure of living in the car for two days!!

Travel

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

9 thoughts on “Spring Break Adventure – Hugs in Elementary”

    1. Hi Marcy! Yes, wonderful way to finish up the week of crazy Elementary! Children see things so simply. Blessings for a great week! Working on putting my Easter basket bread recipe together to post:) ALWAYS think of you when I start pulling out the mixer:) xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

