Mourning Mercies

“Where’s my joy,

This early morn?

Tucked beneath

The sheets in mourn.

Numb and raw,

I walk the floor.

Calling out,

“Save us Lord!”

 

Pink and purple,

Pastels too.

Only You

Can bring us through.

Evil battles,

Raging war;

Broken hearts,

You WILL restore.

 

Turn the page,

You make brand new.

Morning mercies,

Trusting You.”


 

“Through the LORD’s mercies

We are not consumed,

Because His compassions fail not,

They are new every morning;

Lamentations 3:22 NKJV


“God is our refuge and strength,

A very present help in trouble…

God will help her when

Morning dawns.”

Psalm 46:1 & 5 ESV


poem by denisebalog

 

Author: DeniseBalog

Author and Photographer who enjoys writing about Jesus and sharing photographs to illuminate His beauty.

22 thoughts on “Mourning Mercies”

    1. Thank you Alice:) I can not start the day without time spent with God. Even if it is a cup of coffee and a few words of a Devotional. My problem is I long to linger in His Word and Presence:) I believe that is one of the reasons I love the trip to Israel. 9000 miles away from responsibilities and the daily go through life routine. Eleven days set apart to see, hear and learn more about Him. Oh taste and see that the Lord is good:) blessings friend and neighbor:) denise

      Like

    1. Yes, in His mercies, I was led right to Psalm 46:5 which has great significances to me personally. But then again, Jesus is a very personal Savior:) Love the way He is ever Faithful to hear and respond to our hearts:)

      Like

      1. That is beautiful Susan:) I waited until I got home from work to read the Scripture:) Yes, may my enemies perish, as my Friend rises in his Might! Marking your name in my Bible next to this verse:) Thank you:)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m usually up before 5:30 each morning. Just before I take little Odie out for his morning constitution, I often thank the Lord for a brand new and beautiful morning. I say that not having a clue what awaits me on the other side of the door, be it clear, rain, fog, cold, hot….

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The kids are sweet, its the brokenness of their parents lives that tears you up:( But because God is Faithful, He shows us love in the smallest of things the kids do and say:) This morning, one little boy rescued a Christmas ornament that dropped out of a school bag unnoticed. It was a PK “Shepherds” staff with figure prints of “red” to mark the stripes. Yes Lord, You lead us through, one day, one child at a time:) blessings friend, d

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

